Other Free Encyclopedias » Medicine Encyclopedia » Aging Healthy - Part 4 » Supplemental Security Income - Early Assistance Programs, Creation Of Ssi, Administration And Funding, Ssi Federal Benefits And Poverty

Supplemental Security Income - Ssi Categorical Eligibility Requirements

age person eighteen sga blind

The standard requirements for the three basic categories of SSI recipients are clearly delineated.

  • • Aged. The person is at least sixty-five years old.
  • • Blind. The person is totally blind or has very poor eyesight that prevents substantial gainful activity (SGA) (defined in 2000 as earnings of at least $1,170 per month).
  • • Disabled. The person has a medically determinable physical or mental impairment that is expected to last twelve months or to result in death, and prevents the person (age eighteen or over) from doing SGA ($700 per month in 2000). Because children cannot be evaluated on the basis of their ability to do work, children under eighteen must have severe functional limitations.
Supplemental Security Income - Ssi Income And Resource Eligibility Requirements [next] [back] Supplemental Security Income - Ssi Federal Benefit Levels

User Comments

The following comments are not guaranteed to be that of a trained medical professional. Please consult your physician for advice.

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or